Top 20 Romance Reads in 2020

FIRST, I just want to say: I finally reactivated my bookstagram again –– hit me up at @literaryeffect if you want! There I post more concise and visual-driven content. I’m still struggling with engagement as I’ve been MIA for years (and briefly used a different account in 2019…) so I’m looking for new bookstagram friends! I’ll follow back bookish accounts especially ones that post mostly romance/YA.

Anyway, I’m so excited for this post!! 2020 was a tough year and the books I’ve read have definitely helped me cheer up and not drown in my thoughts. This is in no specific order!!! And not all of these are 2020 releases. it’s simply from what I read this year.


My Top 20 Romance Reads in 2020

PAGE 1
The One With Karla Sorensen +
Smartypants Romance Debut Authors

I really think it’s worth noting that Karla Sorensen is on this list the most –– 4 books! I actually started reading her books only last year (2019), and now she’s definitely one of my top favorites. I mean… the name of my blog/bookstagram, can’t you tell it’s inspired by her Washington Wolves series?

As for Hope Ellis (Been There Done That) and Chelsie Edwards (Upsy Daisy), they are 2020 debut authors! I loved their books and I’m sooo excited to read more from them ❤

*Click on the titles for my review / Goodreads link.

PAGE 2
The One with the Illustrated Covers

This page makes me especially happy because look at the pretty covers! Talia Hibbert, Helen Hoang, and Sara Desai’s books (as part of their standalone series) on this list have upcoming releases in 2021 and I can’t wait!

*Click on the titles for my review / Goodreads link.

PAGE 3
The One With (Mostly) Indie Authors

With the exception of Mariana Zapata, the other authors on this list are already ones I’ve read from before this year. They keep giving me guaranteed swoony romances.

*Click on the titles for my review / Goodreads link.

PAGE 4
The One With My Favorite Author

Last but not least… Penny Reid! My favorite Romance author! Okay so I’ve actually binged her Knitting in the City series in 2019 but for some reason I’ve just pushed off the last book –– Marriage of Inconvenience –– cos I wasn’t ready to say goodbye. This 2020, I finally read it. And the other book is Engagement and Espionage: the first book in the new Cletus + Jenn series!

*Click on the titles for my review / Goodreads link.


Again, thank you to the authors (even those not in this list) for sharing your stories with us. Your books have provided us a much needed escape and made 2020 a lot more bearable ♡

find me elsewhere: instagramgoodreads

Leave a comment